What I Found Interesting This Week 7/17-7/24

Posted: July 25, 2016 in Uncategorized

These new weekly posts are to help fitness professionals and fitness enthusiasts in the quest for constant improvement. These posts will be a recall from the previous week about what articles and videos that I found helpful to my knowledge, coaching, or my own training.

-Up first we have Crawling, Carrying, and Coordination by Roger Nelsen Jr. One of the big takeaways from the Chicago Perform Better Summit this last month was the case to add more Carries and Crawling variations into training. I felt this article helped me find practical examples and ways to add these exercises to my own training and my client’s.

Assessment & Correction Strategies for Hip Shift and Pelvic Tilt in Squat & Deadlift w/ Duffin & Cox This video was a huge help for me. I’ve noticed that during my squats I tend to shift my hips to the left side as I come out of the hole. This video gave me an arsenal of tools for evaluating what could be the weak link, and how to activate and mobilize my body to better prepare to squat.  I would advise that if you continue to feel any pain, or form continues to break down that you turn to a professional in your area. 

WEIGHT LOSS IS JUST MATH  This article comes from a coworker of mine @ThePIT. It breaks down the basic math that your body’s physiology uses when it comes to losing weight. I wont get into the rabbit hole that is “losing weight” but this article puts into perspective the big rocks that you need in order to see results.

Let us keep it short and sweet with these 3. Good luck this week with your own training.

-Alex Nigro

Comments are closed.